Daily Archives: 28/01/2011

Jelly Babies at Marble Arch

Jelly Babies at Marble Arch, originally uploaded by gary8345.

Just before Christmas on a shopping expedition, I passed what I at first thought was either a Christmas decoration or an advertising gimmick, and brought a big smile to my face. In fact on further research it turns out its a sculpture by Mauro Peruccheti.

The sculpture is a family of what appear to be giant Jelly Babies. They are part of the City of Sculpture Festival which is running up to the 2012 London Olympics. However, you have to be quick to see the Jelly Babies, they are only on display until April 2011.

A real shame, as they are a colourful addition to Marble Arch, which over the years has just become a giant roundabout. I have yet to see the sculpture at night, as I am sure they look even better lit up.